Customer Reviews

Our customers love their GRIT Freedom Chairs! Every rider is different, with their own abilities and needs. The best way to see if the GRIT Freedom Chair works for you is to try it. Our 30 day Satisfaction Guarantee lets you try the chair risk-free for a month. If it doesn't work for you, for any reason, you can return it for a full refund, including the cost of shipping both ways. 

 

4.7 out of 5 stars

42 reviews


★★★★★ 

by C on November 13, 2017

Being a paraplegic T-4 since 2001 and have learned to accept many things in life. I have remained active on my every day chair but in comes with some limitations especially when I want to go for a hike. In comes the freedom chair that has given me a new sense of independence that has allow me to go places that my everyday chair could not go.


★★★★☆

by Jim on October 26, 2017

The Freedom Chair has added a lot to my mobility and fun. Living in semi-rural Alaska has enough challenges and this chair helps overcome some of them. I am excited about the studded tires and riding in the snow. Thank you for putting into action your ideas for this chair.


★★★★★ 

by Nancy on October 10, 2017

I am so excited. I keep showing people my new "toy" I'm a 64 y.o. woman in pretty good shape and I feel like a kid again. It takes a little while to get used to it but once you get the hang of it, it's great. I can get back in the woods again on flat trails (rail trails are great). I only need help going up the steeper paths. I've found that leaning forward when going up helps and wear a bike helmet for protection. Go for it, try it out. The GRIT team is very helpful. 30 money back guarantee is great.


★★★★☆

by D on October 10, 2017

Helps to get outside and on more uneven surfaces. Also good to work the upper body


★★★★★ 

by Brandy on September 26, 2017

I absolutely love the Freedom Chair. It is an awesome product with excellent customer service. If you are thinking of getting one, do not hesitate. You will love it.


★★★★★ The best "bang for the buck" of everything

by Bill on September 11, 2017

The Freedom Chair is one of the best pieces of engineering I've ever encountered. It's a fantastic solution to a real problem - SO much better than any other wheelchair, we want to use it all the time. Solid construction of a great design - this really enables my wife to get out & go DO things she couldn't do without the chair, to BE places she couldn't get to without it. We've spent alot of $ on equipment since her illness/injury, & our GRIT Freedom Chair is - by far - the best "bang for the buck" of everything.


★★★★★

by Michelle on September 11, 2017

I've gotten my freedom back! Before my disability I was always outside being active. I haven't been able to walk along the beach with my husband, enjoy some of the local park trails, or get out on the bike trail. Now I can do all of these things and I can do it MYSELF! Thank you for giving me my Independence back!


★★★★★

by L on September 3, 2017

We had been looking for ways we could take our son hiking with us, then we found the freedom chair. We struggle with his regular chair to just push him a crossed any grassy surface or uneven pavement. Pushing him in the Grit Freedom chair is effortless no matter what terrain we are on. You sure named the chair correctly! Thank you Freedom chair!


★★★★★

by R on August 28, 2017

I love my new freedom chair. It is now allowing me to get back into nature on the trails and enjoy time with my family. The propelling motion isn't too difficult, way easier that an average chair and the terrain you can go through is impressive to say the least. Thanks so much for giving me some freedom back.


★★★★★

by John on August 27, 2017

I love my new Grit Freedom Chair! The chair is a very impressive piece of equipment. A simple and efficient design that preforms as advertised. It has allowed me to go places that I would not normally have been able to go. The staff at Grit was great to work with and very helpful. The Freedom Chair was a great investment.


★★★★☆

by Luc on August 22, 2017

The Freedom Chair combines a well-thought out design of lever propulsion with solid construction, and yet manages to keep things simple. I heartily recommend it.


★★★★☆

by Duke on August 8, 2017

It took a few tries to get used to it, but now that I've got the hang of it, I'm thrilled. It allows me to do things/go places I could not with a conventional wheelchair.


★★★★★

by David on August 3, 2017

I love my new Grit Freedom Chair! The chair is a very impressive piece of equipment. A simple and efficient design that preforms as advertised. It has allowed me to go places that I would not normally have been able to go. The staff at Grit was great to work with and very helpful. The Freedom Chair was a great investment.


★★★★☆

by Dan on August 2, 2017

I'm a geologist working in the construction industry. My company purchased me the Freedom Chair to improve my mobility on project sites. The chair has met my expectations and given me more flexibility with accessing active construction sites. In addition, the chair has greatly improved my physical fitness by facilitating exercise without excessive strain on my triceps and shoulders. I highly recommend the Freedom Chair for those wishing to improve their health and "off-road" mobility.


★★★★☆

by A. on July 22, 2017

Been using a couple of different wheelchairs for a few years. This is a life changer. The go nowhere limitations of a heavy power wheel chair and a standard wheel chair made mobility difficult. The biggest change is the light weight and brakes. I live in Duluth, MN. This is a very hilly nearly mountainous community with miles and miles of trails and beaches. There are so many places I can get to that have not been possible for years. When I get there stopping is quick easy and safe. Life changer. I could go on but much has already been addressed by others. Thank you.


★★★★☆

by Andrea on July 22, 2017

Been using a couple of different wheelchairs for a few years. This is a life changer. The go nowhere limitations of a heavy power wheel chair and a standard wheel chair made mobility difficult. The biggest change is the light weight and brakes. I live in Duluth, MN. This is a very hilly nearly mountainous community with miles and miles of trails and beaches. There are so many places I can get to that have not been possible for years. When I get there stopping is quick easy and safe. Life changer. I could go on but much has already been addressed by others. Thank you.


★★★★★

by George on July 22, 2017

Been using a couple of different wheelchairs for a few years. This is a life changer. The go nowhere limitations of a heavy power wheel chair and a standard wheel chair made mobility difficult. The biggest change is the light weight and brakes. I live in Duluth, MN. This is a very hilly nearly mountainous community with miles and miles of trails and beaches. There are so many places I can get to that have not been possible for years. When I get there stopping is quick easy and safe. Life changer. I could go on but much has already been addressed by others. Thank you.


★★★★★

by Erin on June 14, 2017

The Freedom Chair has given people the option to participate fully in our programing who other wise may not have, making our sanctuary more accessible. Thank you for your hard work and devotion to inclusion and accessibility.


★★★★★

by Myla on June 11, 2017

This is the best manual chair I've ever owned. It handles well on pavement, and is great on uneven surfaces, jumping curbs, sand and mud, and gravel. This chair is fast! What's really fun is how easy it is to maintain. The guys at the bike shop love it!


★★★★☆

by Ginny on June 10, 2017

Excellent for a good workout, for getting to places a regular wheelchair will not take you and for going on outings with friends.


★★★★★

by Max on June 9, 2017

This chair has literally changed my wife's life. Before it we couldn't exercise or explore together due to her long-term handicapped caused by a gun wound. Now we can jog, hike, explore and play together again. It's a game changer!


★★★★★

by Jack on June 9, 2017

As an amateur photographer, my goal is to have access to many locations that have been inaccessible to me. I'm not there yet, but with conditioning, they are in reach.


★★★★★

by Kalsang on June 8, 2017

Love it. It's great. It took him to Denali National Park in Alaska - a lifetime dream. Thank you thank you! Only thing that might improve it is some sort of fenders. (Your clothes get dirty on the wheels using it.) Also, sometimes it hard to find just the right angle to put the wheels back on and you have to try and try and try and try before it goes on right. Thanks for a wonderful chair. You are wonderful people.


★★★★★

by Jen on June 8, 2017

Good to work upper body.


★★★★★ It has given back to me the freedom to get back out in the outdoors

by Eric on June 8, 2017

The Freedom Chair is exactly that. It has given back to me the freedom to get back out in the outdoors on the trails I loved to explore, only in a different way. The only thing I would change would be the way the chains are adjusted. 


★★★★★

by Jeremy on June 8, 2017

The Freedom Chair is exactly what the chair has done! I have the freedom to go pretty much anywhere I want! I've been out cruising on the beach, hiking and even in the lake for a dip to cool down! Don't wait any longer to purchase you a Freedom Chair and move beyond the pavement!!


★★★★★ 

by Robert on May 1, 2017

The freedom chair is a fantastic device with superior customer service. Unfortunately, with my current level of impairment, I could not successfully transfer in and out of the chair. Had the freedom chair been available to me prior to me going into a power wheelchair, I truly believe that I would be in much better shape right now. The freedom chair is an ingenious device.


★★★★★

by Phil on April 25, 2017

Brilliant design. Very well made of quality components.I'm very impressed by both the chair and the company. I will provide a complete review once my housing situation clears.


★★★★☆

by BonnieKate on April 17, 2017

The freedom chair is truly revolutionary, it has given me a sense of purpose, dignity, and freedom. The only reason I gave it a 4 star is because I want to see how it can be even better. It's already such a strong, well-executed concept and has made my life totally different. I can now exercise with my husband, go off roading on walking and hiking trails with my family and have the basic privilege of mobility in most of the places that the rest of the world shares. I love my freedom chair and am excited to see how the team will improve upon it. It packs up really easily in the back of a car, truck, or minivan. It's industrious, intuitiv and reliable. It definitel has a little learning curve in terms of use and steering, but you get the hang of it very quickly.


★★★★★

by Michael on April 11, 2017

When I had my four-wheeled all-terrain chair, there would be situations where three of the four wheels would get stuck and it was hard to get out. With the Freedom Chair, I don't have to worry about getting only one out of two wheels in the front of the chair getting stuck


★★★★★ Never imagined I'd be able to get down to the water again

by Dhruva on April 10, 2017

This chair is great if you're interested in getting off road and outdoors. It's even a significant improvement on my regular chair when navigating the cracked sidewalks and holey streets on NYC. It's so versatile that I was even able to travel across the sand and down to the water at Jones Beach--a distance of at least 300 yds. Of course, I had beach wheels and it was a real struggle. But I never imagined I'd be able to get down to the water again. It's also good because it uses somewhat different muscles or angles than my regular TiLite wheelchair, so it works a bit like cross-training.


★★★★★

by Warren on January 5, 2017

Fun, durable and the snow couldn't stop me from checking out the craft micro brewery 1/4 mile down the road from home for new years. Love it but just getting started.


★★★★☆

By Alan on December 20, 2016

needs a greater surface area for brakes requires a good deal of force to stop I like the simplicity of the chair and that it can be repaired at a bicycle shop. It can go in a lot of places I can not or would not take my everyday chair

Thanks for the review, Alan! Please contact us at support@gogrit.us to discuss our adjustable-height brakes, a free modification that will make it a lot easier for you to apply the brakes. 
Comment by GRIT on December 21, 2016

★★★★★

by Lisa on October 9, 2016

The Freedom Chair has allowed me to cruise through my neighborhood the way I used to do by taking walks. There are hills where I live, and I enjoy climbing up a hill and then coasting down, like a kid! It's a reward for the effort it required to get to the top. I've never had great upper body strength, but I can operate my Freedom Chair. I have MS, and in the past 3 years, I've developed weakness in my legs and trunk. But the mechanics of the Freedom Chair make it doable for me. The only downside is that I have to rely on someone to move it around for me; for example, today we are going to head to a beach on Lake Michigan to test it on sand. But I couldn't even entertain that idea on my own. Really, that isn't the fault of the chair. It just sucks having MS. This thing, which I prefer to call my GRIT has reopened activities that I've mourned as lost. It's a wonderful gift and worth the substantial cost, in my opinion.


★★★★★ Liberating and wonderful

by Joseph on September 12, 2016

The Freedom Chair offers just that--freedom. I have a FSH muscular dystrophy and it's been years since I've enjoyed the outdoors--like going on hikes or just getting exercise by strolling around the block. This chair has offered me not only a fun experience, but is also helping me improve my fitness level. Don't have concerns that you're not strong enough to propel the chair. I believe most people can use the chair as I'm not the strongest in my upper body, but I can maneuver the Freedom Chair very well. It's really best purchase I've made in a long time. Being able to go outside and work up a sweat is a liberating and wonderful experience.


★★★★★

by Danielle on September 10, 2016

So much fun and my arms are getting buff!!! I love going on grass!! Amazing freedom!!!


★★★★★ Incredible!

by Nerissa on August 3, 2016

This chair is incredible! With my variable chronic illness it's been INVALUABLE to help me to have and maintain the active lifestyle I need to. I seriously can't say enough good things about this chair or the team of designers. They truly care about each user! I can't say enough good things!


★★★★★

by Eric on July 7, 2016

The Freedom Chair has completely opened up the city to us again.


★★★★★ Monster Truck

by Michael on July 7, 2016

The one wheel in the front allows me to keep all wheels on the ground.


★★★★★ Opens up a lot of opportunity

by Glen on June 24, 2016

This is a well-designed chair. The chair is also built well. I especially like that it is made of bicycle components that are readily available and less expensive than medical equipment. This chair opens a lot of opportunity for many people.


★★★★★ Great chair

by RJS on June 23, 2016

great chair - gets a lot of attention


★★★★☆ Easier to maneuver than a manual wheelchair

by Christina on June 22, 2016

 

The Freedom chair is definitely easier to maneuver than a manual wheelchair and has allowed me to get outside more often and get exercise I was unable to get before. It does take a little getting used to and requires coordination. I'm still getting the hang of managing the levers (especially when I need to go backwards and can't). I wish the levers "clicked in" securely as they tend to move if you're not careful while using them. It is awkward for me to get in and out of the chair (especially since the foot rest is not to be stepped on or meant to support one's full body weight). And as with everything available to the disabled who want more mobility, I wish it were not so expensive. I chose it, though, because it is more useful and less expensive than a beach wheelchair and less expensive than a high end outdoor wheelchair plus lever system (like the Wijit which costs $4K) plus the Go Free Wheel (third wheel attachment for your wheelchair). The only way I am able to afford it is through payment plan, zero interest financing through GRIT and the financial assistance of my mother. I have used the chair 4X so far and look forward to it getting easier as I get more adept at using it. I am grateful for it and overall I am happy. The responsiveness of the GRIT team to questions and concerns and the willingness to work with me regarding financing and payment that worked for me (instead of working just for them) are big bonuses. I definitely get noticed in my GRIT chair and lots of compliments and comments about it.


★★★★☆ Enjoying the Freedom Chair

by Kate on June 21, 2016

I am enjoying the freedom chair. It works on our Somerville sidewalks, which is mostly where I am using it. The driveways are challenging because the chair wants to send me in the street at every driveway. On the plus side it allows me to go much further and participate in city life. I have also used it on a couple of nature trails. On my wish list would be an easier way to reverse. I have gotten my self into a jam quite a few times where the only way out is to get out of the chair and pull it out. As I learn it is less times.